General Lessons from a block cube

You guys and gals first started me on creating a cube. Then you made me put it into cubecobra and gave me great advice, so maybe it is fair that I contribute a bit back on the lessons I learned.

First a bit of background: I started playing during urza block as a elementary schoolkid and ofcourse had no money for proper mana bases. Our decks where either the preconstructed or slightly adjusted ones. To be honest, the randomness of playing with sub-optimal cards (and not many duplicates) made that each game was different and much more fun than fine tuned decks. Naturally, I wanted to reconstruct this feeling (and loathe pay to play) so cube it is.

I am lazy as hell so the easiest would be to steal one of your great cubes. However, my playgroup mainly consist of the missus with sometimes a few friends/brothers who play once or twice a year (and most of them have never played with cards after the disastrous advent of planeswalkers/cardframe change). So I immediately ran into trouble since most cubes have a lot of different keywords/mechanics (even historic ones) and that would not be playgroup friendly.

Of course one could use a starter friendly cube but most of these are not that exciting, or to put it more bluntly: boring for me.

So that leaves me with a conundrum. On the one hand I want a cube with depth, on the other hand occasional players should not have to slog through many cards they do not know/understand, have fun, and be on equal footing with regular players. And did I already mention that I am lazy?