General Number of new and reprinted cards per year

Jason Waddell

Administrator
Staff member
1622791589169.png

I saw this graph on reddit. This concept has been a recurring theme in my conversations with Dom on the podcasts. I can remember when I started playing Magic, reading articles about how there were too many cards printed per year, and that the average player couldn't possibly keep up with the rate of releases.

This was around 2009/2010. Since then, the rate of new card printings has nearly doubled. Not really concerned about the rate of reprints at all.

I don't want to sound like a 'back in my day' boomer, but even as somebody who is pretty heavily invested (at least time-wise) in Magic, I'm finding it a little overwhelming. It's probably visible that by the end of Part 2 of our MH2 review I was just kind of... running out of mental bandwidth to talk about new cards. Part of that's on me for scheduling two recordings in 5 days (sorry Dom). I know plenty of people are in the 'more the merrier' crowd, and certainly the number of eyeballs on the forums increase during spoiler season. How do you guys feel about it?

If anything, I'm disappointed that the percentage of printed cards that are reprints is so high.

I appreciate the new cards, but I like things to think about.

Onderzeeboot

Ecstatic Orb
If anything, I'm disappointed that the percentage of printed cards that are reprints is so high.

I appreciate the new cards, but I like things to think about.
I think that's mostly due to the commander decks and the secret lairs, which have a very high percentage of reprints?

I've definitely noticed the increase qualitatively. While I feel it's virtually inevitable as they work to maximize the number of products leaving the shelves, I do still find it frustrating. We basically meld from one spoiler season into the next with little to no break.

Onderzeeboot

Ecstatic Orb