General 180-card cubes in general and building one

I have no experience on smaller cubes whatsoever, but the premise seems practical since I usually have about 1-3 other players available for a draft at any one time. Drafting 4-player or doing a 2-player sealed seems much easier without having to lug around twice the pool size as well.

Has anyone had any experience or thoughts on a smaller format? Seems it would be much harder since card choices are even more tight.

I am also contemplating building a 'themed'-180, and wondering whether something like that would be possible, or advisable even? Currently I am thinking of trying a 180-card tribal cube, perhaps even a peasant-tribal. Thoughts or suggestions?

Happy new year guys, and cheers! :D

I have a thread in the cube list forum, which is a pretty themed 180 cube, since I skipped white and red. Haven't been able to test it yet, but hopefully I'll get to that in the next few days.

Onderzeeboot

Ecstatic Orb
Thanks for the suggest onder, however I'm not looking to build a battle box. Already have one! :D

Haha, sweet! :)

In that case I would go with Jonas' suggestion of keeping it themed in some way. It's already hard to exclude cards in a 360 cube, imagine what all-stars you'ld have to cut to arrive at 180! If you don't restrict yourself, you'll end up with a really cutthroat environment. I'ld suggest picking several themes you and your playgroup can have fun with (+1/+1 counters, domain, enchantress, etc.) and try to flesh out these themes in a few of the colors.

FlowerSunRain

Contributor