Cube Tool cuesbey.com - purpose-built site for cube comparison

Rob Dennis

Developer
Hello everyone,
I'm a full-time software developer who's been working on a cube-related software development projet for awhile now. This has both been to keep my skills up, and because I think the cube community has a number of "user stories" that I don't think are currently being addressed by the tools we have available.
The first user story I'm taking on is:
"As a cube designer who's interested in finding new cards, I often want to compare my list to other lists I've seen out in the community, and I'm interested in where they are different. These differences may lead me to new cards I hadn't even thought of that I'd be able to check out."
I remember when I first built my list, I was going off of:
  • Andy Cooperfauss's google doc
  • Justin Parnell's OTHER google doc
  • Matt Kranstuber's MTGS post
  • Usman Jamil's pictures of his cards laid out on his tablecloth
And as I'm sure you can appreciate, this made it pretty difficult to get a sense of what people were doing differently (let alone get at the 'why' of those differences). In the absolute best case, you're flipping between two tabs with lists of card names, and maybe you can see some differences.

Well, maybe the difference is because that guy counts Porcelain Legionnaire as a white card, and that guy counts it as a colorless. Maybe someone groups all the spells in a color together, but that person splits creatures and non creatures apart in listing.

Even setting that aside, it's difficult to actually derive meaning from two lists of names side by side, so in software development, the concept of diff tools and particularly, graphical diff tools are useful for this purpose.