Inscho's Turn 2 Cube

Hi Everyone, here's my cube:

http://www.cubetutor.com/viewcube/45049

I've been lurking here for a hot minute, reading the discussions, and have gotten a lot out of this community so far. Once I built this new cube, I felt it was the perfect time to start contributing.

As I've mentioned over in Cube Talk, I'm coming from the Peasant Cube subforum of MTGS. The peasant restriction was great at first to give me some clear parameters to work with, but I feel that I've outgrown the format and want more control over my design. Budget was never really that much of a concern, so don't let that sway your suggestions. I've been playing for almost 20 years and have a decent collection to work with.

The starting point for this cube is:
-A playset of both Chromatic Stars and Terrarions
-Two of each Karoo Land
-Both sets of Cycle Lands

To make these more palatable, I've tried to slow the pace of aggro to start on turn 2 (making the eggs function as "fast" mana, and reduce the liability of the cycle lands), lowering the power of removal, keeping value cards to a minimum, and emphasizing tap effects over more powerful ETB ones.

Thanks for looking!

Hey long time to no see! Welcome.

I don't like the 2 mana cycle lands, just try doubling on the other ones?
How about a landfall theme? Bounce lands are sweet for that, and the theme may work at that power level. Maybe plus a few evolving wilds and undiscovered paradise or something.

Executioner's Capsule should be a good fit.
Swap Beetleback Chief for Pia and Kiran Nalaar. Should OK power wise and is super cool.
Bloodsoaked Champion is probably ok.

I'll look more later.

Jason Waddell

Administrator
Staff member
I like the foundation of your format, it's certainly a unique angle. Personally I wouldn't mind a touch more 1-drops in the format, especially considering that if you run land -> bounceland you're not going to have more than 1 mana until turn 3.