Mordor's Cube (The Ship of Theseus)

landofMordor

Administrator
Hello all; I've been cubing for a few years now and recently started posting here. Thought I'd publish some stream-of-thought about updates to my cube below. But first, context!

• Restrictions: No budget (willing to proxy), willing to break singleton
  • Context: Primarily draft with 4 or less, so micro-archetypes are less desirable
  • Power: I like playing powerful Magic because it means that there are fewer non-games. But I'm unwilling to push power so high that power itself leads to non-games. See below.
  • Ideal Gameplay: Balance is what I'm chasing. Magic is a wonderful combination of chess and poker that I adore, but losing to the RNG is one of my least favorite experiences. For this reason, I dislike combo, mana issues, or even just drafting a deck like Aristocrats that might not "get there".
https://cubecobra.com/cube/list/131313

This cube is a bit of a reinvention of the list I've been honing for a year or so. That older list (c/1313) is one which solely supported aggro, control, and midrange, and cultivated maximum balance within that framework. That led to some unconventional design decisions like eschewing build-arounds, trimming multicolor sections to the bone, and including the 10th- and 11th-best versions of staple effects like cantrips, burn spells, or cheap creatures.

I dearly love that playstyle and it carried me through several quarantine drafts with my partner, but over time I noticed some issues with that design approach:
  • It required more in-depth knowledge of Magic than my playgroup's average skill. Back when in-person Magic still happened, I was always surprised by a drafter trying to jam something like Ashiok, Nightmare Muse alongside Jackal Pups. This primarily-EDH group is really most comfortable building midrange, and I can't design assuming they know how A Normal Control Deck operates.