General Data: The Gathering and visualization - How can we do it?

Since I'm posting in another thread today, I might as well start this possibly more important discussion here. As with all my posts, this will be fairly long, so brace yourselves! The important part is in bold, the rest is fluff.

When I first joined the Riptide Lab, one of the things that I was most interested in was comparing experiences and figuring out the coolest ways to improve the fun™ in my Cube, and looking for good ways to analyze and visualize data. After a 2 year hiatus, completing my masters and starting my career as a game developer, I'm back at cubing. But while CubeTutor became the de-facto service to store your Cube list, I am still using a Google spreadsheet for all my Cube needs. Not just because I feel CubeTutor is missing some important features, but also the feature request list and the needs of the average user/contributor seems to be very different from my own needs.

I need a better way to aggregate useful data about my cube to make informed decisions on what archetypes needs more support, how well my curve is balanced for different archetypes, how high of a pick a card is, how much a card contributes to an archetype win% (Ideally I would control for player skill as well, but I don't think it is feasible). Basically, I want better ways to distant myself emotionally from any card and figure out if they are or not impacting my format in a negative or positive way (I'm looking at you, foil signed Wurmcoil Engine!).

So, the greatest question is: How do YOU store and analyse data on your cube performance to make informed decisions? I feel like no one will be as big of a balance freak as I am, but I'm realy interested in getting some opinions and suggestions.

For collecting metrics for picks and deckbuilding, I've thought about these solutions:
• Taking pictures of picks and decks, entering the data manually somewhere.