General Getting Started - The Core of A Cube

Hello, everyone!
I'm new to cube, so I tried to learn as much as possible about building it, but, unfortunately, I ommited one thing. Many people advise others to start building their cubes with creating the core of a cube. But I don't understand, what the core of a set or a cube is. Does this term cover the anchor cards for archetypes, or there's some another meaning?

Jason Waddell

Administrator
Staff member
Hey, thanks for your post.

If you haven't seen it already, we once upon a time made a number of resources for new cube designers, call the Cube Academy: http://riptidelab.com/cube-academy/

Regarding the "core", I'm not sure exactly what others have posted, but I think it can actually take some time to get a sense of what the core of your cube is. In the beginning, I just had a box of cards, many of them borrowed, that my friends and I drafted from. Hundreds of iterations later, I really had the thought of "these cards are essential to the structure of my environment" versus, like, "this is a red three drop that might as well be any other card". The cards I think of as my core are things like mana fixing, mass removal, archetype anchors / multi-archetype supporters.

Things like control finishers, ramp cards, random "good stuff" is often pretty interchangeable.

Grillo_Parlante

Contributor
Hello, everyone!
I'm new to cube, so I tried to learn as much as possible about building it, but, unfortunately, I ommited one thing. Many people advise others to start building their cubes with creating the core of a cube. But I don't understand, what the core of a set or a cube is. Does this term cover the anchor cards for archetypes, or there's some another meaning?