Guild's Path

I've scrapped my ravnica cube.

As some of you might know or have guessed, I started playing the best game ever aka Magic: the Gathering when the original Ravnica block came out. And I still love it and I get that warm, fuzzy feeling of pacifism nostalgia just by looking at the cards. However, the 11-year-old ravnic didn't know about prereleases or limited in general, but instead he made very flavorful casual decks for most of the guilds and played with those against his friends.

For quite some time now I tried to somehow form a limited experience that recreates the feeling and gameplay of these days. However, a cube didn't work out, due to the high number of gold cards leading to 3+ colors, usually. Even my latest iteration with only 5 rotating guilds in a draft pool wasn't quite it. But then, a different idea evolved inside my head.

Back then we played with flavorful guild decks crafted from our limited card pools (we were kids with very little access to money and the internet). And then we tried to improve our decks. So how do duplicate that situation?

My answer: I crafted 100-card sealed pools from the Ravnica block's cards for each guild. They each contain of 60 commons (20×3), 32 uncommons (16×2) and 8 rares. I also tried my very best to balance them in removal density and overall power level.

Here are the lists:

https://cubecobra.com/cube/list/guildspath

From these pools, both (theoretically it could also be played with more) players get only 30 cards initially. Because of a high variance in power level (Lightning Helix and War-Torch Goblin are both in the Boros pack) the initial decks players can then build from these 30 cards will have room to improve. And that's when these become relevant:

Build up a Defense.jpgEmbrace your Guild.jpgExploit your powers.jpgFocus your Skills.jpgGather your Troops.jpgGo on the Offense.jpgIncreasing Investments.jpg
(I'll post the other 7 in the next post)