Jesse's Retro Cube

This is my 360 card retro-themed cube http://deckstats.net/decks/3263/11533-retro-cube-1-1

Only cards from the following sets have been included:

The Dark
Fallen Empires
Homelands
Ice Age
Alliances
Mirage
Visions
Weatherlight

Basically, I wanted to create a draft environment that used all of these awesome (read: terrible) cards that I used to play when I was a young teenager just learning the game. This is the second version, as I cut approximately 25 high CMC cards from across all colors to bring the curve down to a much more reasonable average of about 3. The maiden draft was a ton of fun for everyone involved, and I have another draft scheduled in a few weeks. I plan on recording everyone's decks after the fact to have a better idea about what archetypes are draftable.

After this has been drafted a few more times, I am planning on taking the data and incorporating Tempest block into the cube.

I'm a rank novice at this cubing business though, so if you have any ideas or suggestions, I'm all ears :D

Jason Waddell

Administrator
Staff member
Hi Jesse, thanks for posting. I didn't play Magic in that era so I know almost none of those cards. Flicked through some "sample hands" and found this crazy looking card:
Image.ashx

Dude must buy Visine in bulk.

Looking forward to seeing the decklists from your next draft.

James Stevenson

Steamflogger Boss
Staff member
This looks sweet! I would love to draft this. I too started magic much after all this, so almost all of these are new and awesome to me.

Thanks for your replies! I really regret not recording the lists from the initial draft- there were some really interesting ones that I didn't see coming. My favorite of the bunch took second, incorporating this combo:

Image.ashx
Image.ashx
Image.ashx

He did get run over by the mono- white aggro deck, but I got a chance to see some other games, and if he got the combo online, it was pretty much lights out.

Eric Chan

Hyalopterous Lemure