Kaidan - Kamigawa Meets Innistrad

Kaidan

After years of working on largely high powered cube lists, I have decided to take a page out of Grillo’s book and attempt a truly low powered cube. This is a pretty daunting task if you approach it without an anchor of some sort. Thankfully, I’ve spent a lot of time recently looking at older draft formats and watching retrospectives. So anchor I have.

Two of the most flavorful sets in my mind are Kamigawa and Innistrad. “Kaiden” loosely translates to Japanese ghost or horror story, and so I feel it’s a good name for this project that aims to capture elements of both of these sets.

Some background…

I started playing Magic just before Kamigawa and frankly I found the set awful at the time. Power seemed way down from Mirrodin and prior sets which I had been introduced to first. I was very new to the game and it was just disappointed on first impression. Then came Ravnica which was just sexier with all the gold cards and sweet guild identities. Kamigawa just felt like a mistake and I ignored it for a decade.

I’ve always felt Japanese mythos was awesome and in hindsight I think the set was a lot better designed and more powerful than I originally gave it credit for. Much of the power was there just buried in different things like spirit craft and soulshift or splice onto arcane.

Innistrad, on the other hand, came out during a time when I had lost interest in anything but cube. So I wasn’t really paying much attention truthfully. Which is unfortunate because I think I would have loved drafting it. Lovecraft style horror is sweet and I have found memories of playing Call of Cthulhu when I was a kid.

Mechanically, I think a great deal of what Kamigawa was doing (soulshift) fits very well mechanically with all the graveyard interactions that Innistrad had. Kamigawa flip cards were the prototype for Innistrad transform cards too. So these sets feel like evolutionary decedents of one another. It’s a good pairing.