General Lessons Learned

Aoret

Developer
I thought it might be cool to have a thread to post little tidbits learned from our cube sessions. These can be more on the design side or on the draft/play strategy side. More and more I'm realizing that if I want to get better as a designer, I also need to improve as a player.

I'll start us off: in my last grid draft session versus Safra I tried to build a synergistic BR sacrifice deck, starting my draft with a few early enablers for the archetype. Unfortunately, I didn't end up opening packs with many incentive cards and ended up getting trumped by a more generic value deck. This kinda reminded me of what's good/possible in grid draft as a format. What I was trying to do was almost the equivalent of drafting ramp in a modo cube; had I been successful, I would likely have crushed, but the strategy I chose was inherently high variance.

Jason Waddell

Administrator
Staff member
Grid as a whole requires you to pick broader archetypes. In a regular draft, you pick 45 cards one at a time, giving you plenty of precision, but 16 picks of 2-3 cards is unlikely to give you the tools for a deck whose strength comes from synergy over raw power.

Not removing important packages like reaniamtor and fixing prior to shuffling up a 360 for 6 people and then seeding (shuffling in) the packages leads to lopsided drafts. One player was super unhappy about my reaniamtor support until he found out it had all ended up in the 90 cards we didn't draft.

Eric Chan

Hyalopterous Lemure
Staff member
Not removing important packages like reaniamtor and fixing prior to shuffling up a 360 for 6 people and then seeding (shuffling in) the packages leads to lopsided drafts. One player was super unhappy about my reaniamtor support until he found out it had all ended up in the 90 cards we didn't draft.