Mordor's Cube (The Ship of Theseus)

landofMordor

Administrator

restrictions don't breed creativity​

and related pedantry

Mark Rosewater's most famous cliché among design types is that "restrictions breed creativity." Lucky Paper Radio says it; Star City Games says it; probably some riptiders say it too.

But it's false; an elision. Restrictions do one thing and one thing only: they restrict. How we get from there to creativity is the whole point of the cliché, and omitting that causal chain does a disservice to the listener.

Restrictions are not uniformly good for creatives. (If I'm a musician or a dancer and my body is restricted with more and more padlocks and straitjackets, eventually I will be unable to move, much less make art.)

Freedom is not uniformly bad, either. (If I'm a Chess computer, seeking the optimal route to victory, why would I want my options artificially limited?)

Speaking of computers – when a program searches for an optimum, there's a tradeoff called Explore vs Exploit. Think of it like a Magic pro preparing their deck choice for the Pro Tour. Too much Exploration of the metagame, and you'll never be able to fine-tune and master the best deck; too much Exploitation, and you won't be bothered to even look for the best deck.

The optimal 75 Magic cards for a tournament is a huge-but-tractable problem. Creating Magic cards is orders of magnitude larger. Restrictions shrink that possibility space into one that's more tractable. Then, the creator can Explore exhaustively, without getting lost in the vast tracts of uncharted possibility; they can Exploit completely, without wasting time in cul-de-sacs. The creative process continues, unchanged (and certainly not being "bred"). All that's happened is that focus is easier to come by.

Restrictions don't breed creativity; restrictions triage possibility.

cheers

Last edited: