General Store Owned Cube

Hello,

I am new to the RiptideLab. I was wondering if anyone had thoughts on the subject of designing a store-owned cube. I have build two Cubes of my own(full Ravnica and Urza's block party) so I recently propositioned to build a cube for the shop. I have some basic ideas but I'd like to hear your thoughts on:

-cube type
-cube value
-powered/unpowered

and anything else you think might be relevant. Basically, if you were starting this project what might worry you or things you might keep in mind.

Thanks for the help,
-Bryan

Jason Waddell

Administrator
Staff member
Hi Bryan! Welcome to the site!

As far as a store-owned cube goes, I don't see any compelling reason for it to be one type of cube or another. Are you building this exclusively from cards from your local store's inventory?

What I would be most concerned about when talking to a store owner is security. I have never had any cards stolen, but I do know that it is a problem in the cube world. Another concern is perhaps the audience. Are there going to be really experienced players using this, or more of a mix? Lastly, I don't know the details of your situation, but I would try to think of things from the store owners' perspective. What do they stand to gain/lose from the existence of such a cube?

Dom Harvey

Contributor
For security reasons, a C/Ube would probably be best (or you could just proxy the Cube, which is what a guy's doing here for a local store). I imagine a store-owned Cube is pitched at people who don't Cube often or who don't have their own Cubes, so sticking to a simple, conventional design might be the way to go.

Chris Taylor

Contributor
Though really, if the cube is proxied, do anything you want.
the only stipulation I'd add on to the regular common uncommon cube is allow rare manafixing lands.

Thanks for the suggestions guys. I had thought a little about security, since the store wouldn't want to exclude people but it cant guarantee their trustworthiness.