General (theory) playgroups and the cube teleology and experience

CML

Contributor
so the initial purpose of this post was to ask everyone what their play-groups looked like and how that jived with their cube design and though i'd like to do that i thought i'd explore the issue a little further.

when i started playing mtg again it was with a bunch of old friends, one of whom (the guy who spearheaded it all) had gotten travis woo into the game some sixteen years ago. this was in 2010. i hadn't played for about a decade. the short version is that these drafts went on weekly for awhile, online poker died, i had to find something to do, i played a ton of modo, my friends got jobs or wasted their time in other terrible ways, the drafts became less frequent, i made a cube, interest briefly spiked, the cube exhibited many common design flaws, interest dwindled, i t8'ed an scg here, i made some friends, these friends came to cube, the cube became better, these friends' friends came to cube, the cube became even better, and that brings us to the present day.

i've noticed that as my skill has grown the difficulty of the formats we've drafted has grown. since the converse is certainly true as well there's a muddled correlation and causation -- in other words, not only do playgroups improve cube, cube improves playgroups. (cube is the most skill-testing of formats -- and if you want to read about the absence of these notions from the modo cube's design and how that explains why that cube an abortion, here's my old thread on it: https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgroups=#!topic/riptide-laboratory/KSbgXi2QpPk).