General New Format: Pioneer

They've got a handful of events coming up early 2020 as well which leads me to believe that this will be the new Modern. I'm also pretty sure their mystery end of year set is just going to be Pioneer Masters.

I am so Freaking Excited for this Format.

I started playing back in 2013. My first standard was RTR // Theros standard, A.K.A. the Black Year. Theros//Khans standard is still my favorite standard format from when I've been playing save for the Pre- Ravnica Allegiance standard we had last fall. Here's a few things you need to know about this format.

This is not Modern light.
The fact that there are no Fetch Lands in this format means that 4-color mana bases are going to be hard to pull off, and 3-color mana bases are going to pose some amount of risk. In addition, some cards that are banned in modern are actually going to be initially legal in this format. Stuff like Deathrite Shaman and Treasure Cruise may have been too good for modern, but are probably far more appropriate in a format without Fetchlands and Dredge cards. Remember, Deathrite Shaman did literally nothing when it was in standard, and almost no decks played the cruise either.

In addition, cards like Aether Vial, Mox Opal Tarmogoyf, Lightning Bolt, Snapcaster Mage, Liliana of the Veil, the Tron Lands, and Eldrazi Temple just don't exist and probably won't exist in this format. What this means is that many of the annoying modern decks just aren't going to be around in this new format.

This is not Frontier, Historic, or Standard Plus.