General Say hello!

Jason Waddell

Administrator
Staff member
Hi, I'm Jason Waddell, an American living and working in Belgium. I recently started writing Cube articles for ChannelFireball.com.

I am relatively new to Magic, and come from a background of working with Major League Gaming, a company that creates competitive rulesets and gametypes to be used for tournament play. I think there are a lot of misconceptions surrounding this kind of approach, and perhaps the Spike psychographic in general. Let's take a pretty classic example. When Halo 2 was released, Bungie released it with some pretty atrocious gametypes. These matches basically revolved around hoping your team spawned closest to some power weapon of absurd vehicle, and then holding that position for the remaining 10 minutes or so. Games were often virtually determined in the first 30 seconds, were extremely frustrating at a competitive level, and left people extremely dissatisfied.

A lot of the confusion, in my opinion, assumes that people are dissatisfied with losing. The dissatisfaction comes from playing in an environment that is not presenting you with a high density of interesting decisions. The games were boring and frustrating. We all have opportunity costs. If one game isn't cutting the mustard, hell, there are thousands of other out there. Naturally, the push for better rules and gametypes came from the top. The players at the very top of the leaderboard wanted an experience that was worth their time. It probably comes as little surprise that these players were also the ones winning oversized checks in Halo 1, 3, 4, etc... Players who not only recognized the components of fun, but understood the decision dynamics so well that they excelled at them themselves.