General Balancing gold levels in a makeshift cube

I've been hanging around here for about half a year now or so, and while I've begun assembling a cube of my own and play with other people's cube fact still remains that I've yet to get a draft of my own together. Usually the advice here is to just take whatever crap you've got lying around and sleeving it up to the best of your abilitiesite, so that I'd what I'm going to do.

Since I started playing during Inn-Rtr I've got a bunch of gold cards lying around. Gold cards are usually best left to a somewhat low amount, but I'm feeling like the recent discussions sparked from KtK together with the fact that I own a lot (some?) gold cards makes me feel like I want to have a slightly above average amount of gold cards.

My biggest question right now is basically how to balance the lands with the gold section. I don't own enough impressive 3-color cards that I'd like to cube to really dip into that kind of tricolor cubing. My first idea was just to run the usual riptide'ish set up of fetch-fetch-abu-shock, with checks (because I like them!) and the 10 trilands. Im unsure if that's a good idea? Anyone with more experience know if what I'm trying to do has been done?

Basically I want to run more of the gold cards I have (and who doesn't!) and with that increase the number of lands I have because gold needs fixing. I'm running 360 cards, and I feel like I could probably let the artifact section make way for a slightly bigger gold / land section.

I've seen Rob Dennis's tricube and really like it so my idea is to partially steal from that without dipping to deep into the pure tri-support.

Riptide, how do you do multicolor cubes?

Chris Taylor

Contributor