General Say hello!

Hi, I'm Alex Blanton from Little Rock, Arkansas. I'm a casual/competitive fighting gamer (P4A, Blazblue, MvC3, Street Fighter 4) and often play board games with family and friends. I started playing Magic when my brother picked up a couple Tenth Edition Intro Packs. My favorite card back then and now is Vigor. I still love green fatties ruining combat math. Through my love for it I try to stick it in decks where it doesn't belong. (Hello, Riku EDH) In Magic I'm known among friends as a luck sack when it comes to pulling foil mythics and top-decking.

Anyway, I didn't start playing frequently until M12, where I took 1st in a draft by passing Serra Angels for Timely Reinforcements and Dungrove Elder of all things. My friends and I promptly pooled our winnings into a box of New Phyrexia, which we promptly drafted. Karn was liberated and good times were had. Since then, my card pool has expanded, and I've been looking for ways to leverage my ever-growing box of Limited detritus. There's only so many subpar Commander decks I can stand building. I attend FNM regularly and actively look for reasons to draft greedy 4-5 color control decks. (It never happens.) Unfortunately, FNM is only once a week. So instead of signing up for MTGO, I watch Channel Fireball videos. There I found Jason's articles describing set Cubes. Intrigued, I blazed through his other articles, found Riptide Lab and lurked for a while.

I've been working on my own Cube and have borrowed quite a bit from this site's ideas. It's been over a month and it seems almost ready for a test run. I'll post a list later: it's 1:30AM and I'm still recovering from the prerelease.

Aoret

Developer
Welcome Alex! Glad you decided to post. We're always happy to have more people on the boards.

Looking forward to seeing your list.

CML

Contributor
by far our most stereotypical playgroup member went to CMU and is a CS savant. name of "adam ruprecht" if you're an old mellonian too mr wadds